KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 14 — Six states, namely Penang, Perak, Selangor, Melaka, Johor and Kelantan have been affected by floods as of 12 noon today, involving 14 districts said the National Disaster Management Agency (Nadma).

Nadma in a statement today said 2,914 flood victims from 904 families have been placed at 31 temporary flood relief centres (PPS) in the six states.

“In Johor two additional PPS have been opened in Ledang and Tangkak while three additional PPS were opened in Perak at Larut, Matang and Selama,” said Nadma in the statement.

The agency added that the Drainage and Irrigation Department (DID) had issued a notice to inform that readings at four rivers showed that the water level was at the danger level.

The rivers named were the Long Jegan river in Miri, Sarawak; Rantau Panjang river in Pasir Mas (Kelantan); Sungai Melaka at Batu Hampar (Melaka) and Parit Keliling in Kampung Pasir (Johor Bahru).

Water level at six rivers are reported at the warning level, namely Sungai Triang, Bera (Pahang); Long Teru, Marudi in Miri (Sarawak); Sungai Langat, Bukit Changgang, Kuala Langat (Selangor); Sungai Anak Bukit at Jambatan TAR (Kedah) Cheng (Melaka).

Nadma urged those living in around the flood prone areas to remain alert and follow the directives and instructions from the relevant authorities.

Members of the public must only refer to the latest information from reliable official sources through the following websites: publicinfobanjir.water.gov.my, Facebook PubliclnfoBanjir and [email protected] InfoBanjir. — Bernama